Sullivan Leadership Award Committee


Adair Dingle (co-chair)
Jason Moy (co-chair)

Alexandra Adame
Nathan Colaner
Therry Eparwa
Michelle Etchart
Brittany Goff
Mileva Huljev
Michelle Kim
Greg Magnan
Mike Marsolek
Brian McCullough
Jimmy McCarty
Bill McNamara
Melissa Minato
Melore Nielsen
Rich Okamoto
Laurie Prince
Matthew Rellihan
Lucas Ruiz
Randy Scott
Aakanksha Sinha

Mary-Antoinette Smith, Director, Sullivan Leadership Program


Recruits, reviews, and selects nine Sullivan Scholars each year from high school applicants residing and attending school in the United States. Winners receive tuition, lodging, and meals for each of four years of study at SU. For more information about the competition please see the Sullivan Leadership Award website.


Recommendatory to the President, via the Provost.


Monthly meetings are scheduled fall quarter and weekly meetings are scheduled winter quarter. Extensive time is required outside meetings for committee members to read and evaluate applications. Committee members attend the Leaders' Day and Finalists' Day events of the competition.


The 22-member committee is appointed in collaboration with the appropriate Deans and Student Development administrators and consists of:
• 11 staff, 
• 9 faculty members, 
• 2 administrators.

The 11 staff positions are from the following areas:
• 3 from Admissions (including the Dean or Associate Director), ongoing
• 1 from Student Financial Services, ongoing
• 1 from the Office of Multicultural Affairs, ongoing
• 1 from Student Academic Services, ongoing
• 1 from Campus Ministry, ongoing
• 4 from Student Development, rotating 4-year terms (with reappointment possible)

The 9 faculty positions are chosen to represent the various undergraduate colleges and schools and serve 5-year terms.

The 2 administrators are from the Office of the Provost and Student Development, with one permanent position each.

The committee is co-chaired by one of the faculty members (5-year term) and by the Dean or Associate Director of Admissions (ongoing).

Reports To

Robert Dullea, Ph.D., Vice President for Planning and Vice Provost


Attendance and general accomplishments to be recorded for each meeting.

Chair or Contact Person(s)

Adair Dingle, 
Jason Moy,   


The Sullivan Leadership Award was first established in 1989 as a Washington state program to support five student leaders and thereby promote leadership and service for others through ethical vision. As of Academic year 2016 it has grown to include all 50 states with nine awardees. Award recipients are referred to as Sullivan Scholars.