2023 Staff Award Winners

Posted: June 21, 2023

By: Celebration of Staff Planning Committee

The Celebration of Staff Planning and Nomination Review Committees are pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Staff Awards: 

  • The winner of the Outstanding Team Award is Disability Services, specifically Kim Thompson, Richard Okamoto, Maggie Neuman, Valerie Fisher, Rosemary Dunne, and Evonne Osario.

    Recognizing how their tireless efforts have made them a reliable and valuable resource for the SU campus community, empowering students, staff, and faculty alike.
  • The winner of the Magis Innovation Award is David Abney (ITS).

    Recognizing his ability to think outside the box and create innovative solutions to complex challenges, namely his Supervisor Automation System, which has streamlined ITS processes and paved the way for further digital transformation initiatives.

  • The winner of the Inclusive Excellence Award is Angel Asuncion-Reed (Student Development).

    Recognizing her efforts in pushing the needle toward justice through regularly questioning structures to be more inclusive, consistently advocating for cultural clubs, and constantly centering and empowering marginalized students.

  • The winner of the Exempt Staff Leadership Award is Maggie Ricketts (Human Resources).

    Recognizing her tenacity and her dedication to her team and colleagues amid the transformational change within HR; this tumultuous adjustment period required her to take on, and lead, additional functions outside of her scope, such as HRIS and Benefits. In the past year, she went above and beyond for all of HR to be sure they were supported and successful, took part in working groups to serve the entire campus community, and fully embodied the values of SU with grace and patience at every point of the way.
  • The winner of the Non-Exempt Staff Leadership Award is Karen Yaguchi (Payroll Office).

    Recognizing her diligence and unwavering commitment to the employees of the university as an integral member of the Payroll team. In her tenure, she has exhibited selflessness and dedication to ensuring seamless and error-free success each payroll cycle, managing with meticulous detail the accuracy of all processes from retirement contributions to student worker earnings. She has shown leadership through her willingness to go the extra mile every time, being an invaluable resource for all in and outside of her department, all while maintaining kindness and professionalism with every interaction.

  • The winner of the Living the Mission Award is Kit Morse (Event Sales).

    Recognizing her tireless commitment to uplifting the staff of SU throughout each of her roles across campus from her staff position, her role as SUSC president, and her participation in working groups, she tirelessly advocates for the recognition and support of SU staff. In her dedication, she has taken all transitions across the campus, even within her own role, with grace and unwavering commitment to the mission.

  • The winner of the Shining Light Award is Don Kustus (Facilities).

    Recognizing his ability to maintain a positive attitude that is genuine, realistic, collaborative, and humorous in the face of the sudden changes and long hours expected in his role. He is able to brighten the day for those on his team and across campus with his honest, cheerful disposition.

Please visit Celebration of Staff Special Awards to see the nominees for this year's awards. Thank you to all who nominated staff colleagues for this year’s event.

Visit Faculty Awards to see this year's recipients, who were honored at last month's Faculty Convocation.

If you see any of this year’s winners, be sure to congratulate them on their achievements!