Academic Assembly


Academic Assembly Bylaws


Frank Shih (President)
Terri Clark (VP - Program Review Committee)
Michael Ng (VP - Faculty Handbook Revision Committee)

Rick Block (sub Felipe Castillo FQ17)
Patricia Buchsel
Mark Cohan
Marc Cohen
Brooke Coleman
Miles Coleman
Carlos de Mello e Souza
Arie Greenleaf
Leticia Guardiola-Saenz
Nalini Iyer
Emily Lieb
Agnieszka Miguel
Katie Oliveras
Erik Olsen
Steve Palazzo
Tracey Pepper
Gregory Silverman
Colette Taylor
Kirsten Thompson

Charles Lawrence (Ex-Officio)
Kathleen La Voy (Ex-Officio)
Allison Gibbons (SGSU Rep)
Travis Tweet (GSC Rep)


The Academic Assembly is the elected body through which the faculty participates in decisions involving academic, university-wide matters, as well as areas that influence student learning. Such matters include among other things: academic quality, terms of faculty service, curricula that require coordination across programs, strategic planning, budgets, and physical facilities.

Faculty participation

The Assembly needs and welcomes the help of the faculty in identifying issues that should be addressed by the Assembly. Faculty members should feel free to discuss issues with individual members. Assembly meetings are open to all faculty members. Any faculty member may address the Assembly upon the invitation of the president of the Assembly or upon approval by the president of a request made a week in advance of a meeting.