Reopening Task Force

President Stephen Sundborg, S.J., announced in April the university’s plan to reopen campus in fall 2020 and appointed 12 members to the President’s Task Force on Reopening Fall 2020.


Read about the COVID-19 Containment and Prevention Working Group (C-CAP)

Who are the members of the task force?

How is the task force approaching its work?

Co-chaired by Provost Shane P. Martin and Executive Vice President Tim Leary, the reopening task force (RTF) has organized its work in three main areas: Instructional Continuity, Student Care and Experience and Safe and Healthy Campus. Faculty, staff, deans and other administrators are serving on working groups in support of each of these planning initiatives.

The Instructional Continuity group is assessing options for what the fall quarter academic programs and schedule will look like, based on the still-evolving information about the virus. Work is also being done on innovative approaches to teaching and learning.

The Student Care and Experience group is studying options for housing, communal dining and student interaction and engagement, while maintaining physical distancing to prevent exposure and infection.

The Safe and Healthy Campus group is focusing on testing, contact tracing, self-isolation and quarantine, physical distancing protocols, personal hygiene, daily health screenings, PPE, masks and face coverings and human resources issues.

FAQs about the Reopening Taskforce

Page last updated
January 13, 2022