2015 Beta Gamma Sigma Award Ceremony

Posted by Joseph Phillips, Jr. on Monday, May 11, 2015 at 8:36 AM PDT

The forty-ninth annual Induction Ceremony for our Beta Gamma Sigma chapter took place on May 8 th .  We inducted ten juniors, twelve new senior students, and 39 graduate students.  Dr. Brian Kelly was also inducted as a new member of BGS.  BGS is the academic honor society for students majoring in business at AACSB accredited schools.  Only the top 10% of undergraduate students and top 20% of master's level students are eligible for invitation to BGS membership.

Dr. Madhu Rao received the BGS Professor of the Year award.  He was among 31 Albers professors receiving votes from BGS members.  As Chapter Advisor Fred DeKay has noted, this says a lot about the strong teaching in Albers!

Madalyn Lynch received the 2015 BGS Scholarship, which is presented to junior student who will help lead the chapter for the coming year.

Dr. Fred DeKay presided over the ceremony as chapter advisor for the final time.  Fred will be retiring at the end of this academic year and is handing the reigns over to Professor David Carrithers.  Fred has done a terrific job as advisor, leading the chapter to Premier status every year.  Thank you Fred for your excellent leadership of our BGS chapter!

Next year will be the fiftieth anniversary of our BGS chapter!  We will have to make some big plans to celebrate!

Congratulations to all our BGS inductees and awardees!