About Us

Founded in 2004, the Sundborg Center for Community Engagement connects campus and community through programs and partnerships that align with Seattle University's values and strategic goals. Inspired by the University’s Jesuit ethos, CCE strives to lead as an anti-racist organization working toward a 2030 place-based vision that leverages the university's resources to advance justice, remove institutional barriers and educate change makers.

CCE Staff 2024 20th Anniversary

In spring 2024, the Center for Community Engagement (CCE) celebrated 20 years of connecting campus and community for a more just and humane world. Part of our celebration included sharing a snapshot of our collective work through a student-produced film that was just one way Seattle University students and their projects  are transformed from the Community Engaged Learning process.

Center for Community Engagement Staff

CCE Advisory Boards

These advisory boards help prioritize and guide strategic decisions for our pathway.

  • Eduardo Peñalver, Seattle University President
  • Val Gorder - President, Gaard Development and SU Trustee
  • Evelyn Allen - President, Equity Alliance of Washington and Chair of BCIA
  • Rod Brandon - Executive Director, Seattle Housing Authority
  • Rivka Burstein-Stern - Director of Strategic Partnerships, Seattle Public Schools
  • Dwane Chappelle - Director of the Department of Education and Early Learning, City of Seattle
  • Rodney Hines - CEO, Metier Brewing Company
  • Jaime Lee - Co-Executive Director, SCIDpda
  • Susan Yang - Executive Director, Denise Louie Education Center
  • Deborah Ahrens (Dean for Intellectual Live and Professor of Law, School of Law)
  • Nick Ames, Manager (Billodue Makerspace and Media Productions Center, Lemieux Library and Learning Commons)
  • Charisse Cowan Pitre (Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Justice Initiatives, College of Education)
  • Butch de Castro (Dean, College of Nursing)
  • Jen Schulz (Associate Teaching Professor, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Kathryn Troxel (Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Accounting, Albers School of Business and Economics)
  • Lindsay Whitlow (Professor of Biology, College of Science and Engineering)
  • Carol Ann Barnickol
  • Laury Bryant
  • Gretchen Brennan
  • Sean Brennan
  • Val Gorder
  • Maureen Lee
  • Katie Renschler
  • Ruth Tressel