Thomas F. Gleed Chair


The Gleed Chair was established to memorialize Thomas F. Gleed, a prominent Seattle businessman and longtime friend and contributor to Seattle University. Mr. Gleed’s association with Seattle University dates back to the early 1950’s when he and other local business leaders began to organize support for educational programs at the university. His advice and direction helped to guide an emerging institution through several important building phases.

The Thomas F. Gleed Chair of Business Administration is expected to be an outstanding scholar and teacher in the field of business. The specific duties will be tailored to the strengths of the chair holder.

Date Started

The Gleed Chair was established in 1980. Chair holders were originally distinguished visiting faculty in the field of business, selected for a one- to five-year term. In 2021 the Gleed Chair was revised to be an internal position for a three-year term.

Current Chair holder

Former Chair holders

  • Werner De Bondt, PhD 2019-2020
  • Suzanne De Janasz, PhD 2014-2016
  • Dino Falaschetti, PhD 2010-2012
  • David Reid, PhD 2006-2008
  • Colette Frayne, PhD 2003-2005
  • Richard Corbett, PhD 2000-2002
  • Russell J. Petersen, PhD 1997-1999
  • David Dubofsky, PhD 1993-1995
  • Robert Higgs, PhD 1990-1992
  • David Kurtz, PhD 1986-1988
  • Karl E. Weick, PhD 1983-1984
  • David Kurtz, PhD 1980-1983