Jones Progress Awards

This rigorous SU alumni business accelerator turns goals into accomplishments by providing a solid infrastructure of grants, mentors, and connections. Video created by Nils Gollersrud, Bridge MBA '20. 


The Jones Progress Awards supports Seattle University alumni and graduating students in ramping up their new businesses by providing a solid infrastructure of mentoring, grant funds, and connections within the regional entrepreneurial ecosystem. This program encourages these SeattleU degree seekers and alumni to push their businesses to heightened levels, with the help of a team of mentors and coaches. 

After a rigorous application process, three candidates are selected each year to set challenging goals for their team to complete. Teams are matched with 4-5 expert business coaches who guide and advise the teams through 6 monthly meetings to meet their desired milestones. At the end of this working period, each of the candidates give a presentation to a panel of judges; these judges give the $10,000 award to those that successfully meet key criteria and milestones within the 6-month period.

The Jones Progress Awards Program Details

The 2022-23 Jones Progress Awards Application

*2022-23 Jones Progress Award Applications are OPEN and will close on September 15th, 2022

Jones Progress Award Sponsor

The Herbert B. Jones Foundation has generously provided a grant to the Albers Innovation & Entrepreneurship Center (IEC) to offer three $10,000 awards per year to eligible student and alum teams. The Herbert B. Jones Foundation believes that entrepreneurism and small business are the backbone for the strength of our economic system.

The Jones Progress Award was a six-month journey for Mad Dawg's Hot Dogs. I was mentored by four business leaders specifically chosen for me and our company's needs. In these monthly meetings, I began to mature from a business owner to a business leader with CEO qualities while our MDHD moved from being a cool small business to a focused, goal-oriented company.

Daniel Dovinh Mad Dawgs Hot Dogs Founder


Peter Rowan

Lawrence K. Johnson Endowed Chair of Entrepreneurship

Amelia Marckworth

Director of Community - on leave

Headshot of Janie Ng with a white background

Janie Ng

Interim Director of Community