Lecture Series

The Ann O'Hara Graff Lecture Series is a memorial series named in honor of Ann O'Hara Graff, a professor in the department 1995 - 1996 after teaching for many years in the graduate program of Loyola University in Chicago. Dr. O'Hara Graff, who received her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago, was well known for her commitment to the vitality of the Church, the role of women in Catholicism, and diversity issues. In general, she sought to bring together academic theological insights and lived experience. She was the editor of and a contributor to In the Embrace of God: Feminist Approaches to Theological Anthropology. Dr. O'Hara Graff was one of the founders of the Women's Seminar for Constructive Theology in the Catholic Theological Society of America. This Seminar now presents an annual award in her honor.

Speakers in this series have included Dr. Sallie McFague, Distinguished Theologian in Residence at Vancouver School of Theology,The Most Rev. Bishop Gabino Zavala, President of Pax Christi USA,Dr. Emilie M. Townes, Andrew W. Mellon Professor of African American Religion and Theology at Yale University Divinity School, and Associate Dean of the School,Susan Ross, Diana Hayes, Ivonne Gebarra, and Richard McBrien. The lecture series also included co-sponsorship of a symposium on peace and war in an age of globalization. Bishop Thomas Gumbleton, Drew Christiansen, SJ, and Cynthia Moe-Lobeda offered addresses at that event. 

Contact Us

Donna Teevan, Ph.D.
Casey 221

Lauren St.Pierre
Senior Administrative Assistant
Casey 2E