Campus Community / People of SU

2021-2022 Naef Scholarship Recipients Named

June 10, 2021

Share this

Along with our Sullivan Scholars and Bannan Scholars, the Naef Scholars are among Seattle University’s very finest students. The Naef scholarship program, made possible by an endowment from the estate of Sue M. Naef, recognizes outstanding students from diverse backgrounds in the undergraduate schools and programs of the university. Every Naef Scholar is committed to social justice leadership in their community and maintains a GPA of 3.4 or above. As a group, the scholars hold endorsements from faculty and staff across the University and have been recognized for their work on- and off-campus. The Naef Scholarship Selection Committee chooses these scholars after an extensive application and interview process. 

Seattle University is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021–2022 Naef Scholarship. Below you will find the names of each awardee, identified by year, nominating school or division and major.

Nicholas Andino* -Senior, Arts & Sciences; Sociology
Harley Blackard*-Senior, Albers, Finance
Arsh Brar- Senior, Albers; Accounting, Business Analytics
Teresa Buchholz*-Senior, Arts & Sciences; Psychology
Matthew Conde- Junior, Arts & Sciences; Communication and Media
Keira Cruickshank- Senior, Arts & Sciences; Creative Writing, Sociology
Julie Dinh- Junior, Nursing
Cullin Egge- Junior, Arts & Sciences, Social Work, Spanish
Hallie Evans*–Senior, Arts & Sciences; International Studies, Spanish
Isabel Gilbertson- Junior, Arts & Sciences; Psychology, Public Affairs
Audrey Graves- Junior, Arts & Sciences; Psychology
Izzy Halaka- Junior, Arts & Sciences; International Studies, Political Science
Kayla de Leon- Senior, Nursing
Bethany Locke- Senior, Albers; Business Analytics, Finance
Madeleine Magana- Junior, Arts & Sciences; Public Affairs
JP Newmann- Senior, Arts & Sciences; Interdisciplinary Liberal Studies
Emily Nielsen*-Senior, Arts & Sciences; Public Affairs
Julia Sant- Senior, Arts & Sciences; Social Work
Celia Simpson*- Senior, Arts & Sciences; Criminal Justice
Grace Stuewe- Senior, Arts & Sciences; Interdisciplinary Arts, Psychology
Sheera Tamura- Senior, Arts & Sciences; Social Work
Jaidev Vella*– Senior, Albers; Business Management
Shirley Wang- Junior, Nursing
Charlotte Wood*-Senior, Albers; Business Management, Business Analytics

* Returning Naef Scholar

Congratulations to this year’s recipients. We are inspired by what they have already accomplished and eager for the change they will bring as leaders for a just and humane world. For more information about the Naef Scholars, please contact Natalie Cisneros, Ph.D., at

Share this