Campus Community

Public Affairs Corner: Independent Colleges of Washington

Written by Lincoln Vander Veen

September 14, 2020

Seattle U is the largest member of ICW, an organization that represents 10 institutions of higher education in Washington.

Ever heard of ICW? That acronym refers to the Independent Colleges of Washington, an organization that represents 10 institutions of higher education in Washington. Seattle University is its largest member.

ICW promotes the unique educational opportunities of independent colleges in Washington, the benefits of students being able to attend their “best fit” college and the value of higher education to the state.

  • It represents the following schools in Washington: Seattle University, Seattle Pacific University, Pacific Lutheran University, Gonzaga University, Heritage University, Saint Martin's University, the University of Puget Sound, Walla Walla University, Whitman College and Whitworth University. As employers, ICW schools employ more than 8,000 people, making the collective one of the state’s top 20 private sector employers.
  • With students from each of Washington’s 39 counties and more than 135 years of history, ICWs member campuses award one in five of the baccalaureate and graduate degrees earned in the state.
  • For more than 60 years, ICW has promoted educational opportunity through policy engagement, programs and fundraising partnerships. Its work to promote equity ensures that all students—including new majority, first-generation, returning adults, low-income and underrepresented youth—can choose their ideal education environment and graduate prepared to contribute their talents to the state, the nation and the world.

 Following is an animated overview of ICW: