Campus Community / People of SU / Science / Technology and Health

Bannan Scholars

June 1, 2020

Share this

Science and Engineering Dean Michael Quinn announces 2020-2021 recipients. 

Michael Quinn, dean of the College of Science and Engineering, shares the following:

I am pleased to announce the recipients of the College of Science and Engineering Bannan Scholarship for 2020-2021. This scholarship program is named for its benefactor, Thomas J. Bannan, a leader in manufacturing, commerce, engineering and applied sciences and a man with a deep commitment to Seattle University.

To be eligible for a Bannan scholarship, a student must be an undergraduate junior or senior with a full-time major in the College of Science and Engineering. The applicant must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and have a demonstrated commitment to serving both the university and the greater community. The applicant must submit a biographical sketch, a personal statement describing volunteer service, and a faculty recommendation.

Bannan Scholars are selected in the spring quarter by the Bannan Selection Committee following an extensive selection process. This year the committee was comprised of Drs. Heather Brown, John Carter, Mark MacLean and Kristy Skogerboe. Following an award of the scholarship, the student makes a personal commitment to actively participate in the program’s activities. The annual scholarship award is $6000, applicable to tuition expenses, and is renewable for one year if academic parameters and program commitments are met.

The 2020-2021 Thomas J. Bannan Scholars are:

  • Alexander Aarona*, Biology
  • Sherry Bonilla, Biology
  • Veronica Carpenter, Computer Science
  • Sarah Erdenebileg, Biology
  • Emma Federico*, Biology
  • Nestor Iwanojko, Mathematics
  • Megan Kawamura, Biology
  • Reece Keller, Mathematics/Physics
  • April Kimmel*, Biology
  • Alyssa Konopaski, Chemistry
  • Ryan Larsen*, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Jakob Levine*, Chemistry
  • Tuan Lo*, Computer Science
  • Lan Nguyen, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Hailey Pausz, Biology
  • Quinn Peters, Biology
  • Nate Ross, Biology
  • Kyle Sherick, Mechanical Engineering
  • Calien Somlak*, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Tatianah Summers*, Biology
  • Phuong Tang, Computer Science
  • Ben Tchamba, Computer Science
  • Christiana Tembo*, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Tayler Westby*, Biology
  • Brooke Wynalda, Biology

Note: * denotes second year Bannan Scholarship recipient

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Bannan Scholars!

Share this