Vezeau, Alberg receive Provost Faculty Awards

June 11, 2018

Share this

Two SU professors have received faculty awards, Interim Provost Bob Dullea announced June 7. 

2018 Provost’s Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching 

Professor Toni Vezeau, a faculty member in the College of Nursing, has been teaching at Seattle University for a quarter century. She has taught in all programs from the bachelors to doctoral level, focusing her efforts in supporting students very new to the field. She is passionate about the development of a new kind of nurse—one who is both compassionate and exceptional in leadership and skills. Vezeau has developed evaluation methods with the college so that all faculty ensure that students are well-prepared for licensure. She is known for a direct and individualized approach to both students and faculty. Jesuit-raised and Jesuit-educated, Vezeau has worked to keep the Jesuit mission central in all aspects of the college, ensuring both academic rigor and social consciousness. Vezeau deeply cares about her students and colleagues in the university. 

2018 Provost's Faculty Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative Endeavors 

Professor Mary Alberg, a faculty member in the Physics Department of the College of Science and Engineering, is a nationally recognized teacher-scholar. Her research is in theoretical nuclear and particle physics, most recently focused on the properties of the proton, the particle at the heart of every atom and the fuel of stars. Inspired by her own undergraduate research experience at Wellesley College, Alberg has made collaborative work with undergraduates central to her scholarly life. Her research program and mentorship of Seattle University students has been continuously supported by the National Science Foundation for over two decades. The impact of Alberg’s scholarship has been recognized by her election to Fellowship in the American Physical Society. She is the inaugural recipient of the Lynnwood W. Swanson Scientific Research Award, established by the M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust to honor “a professor whose work has gained national recognition, and demonstrated leadership in engaging undergraduate students and promoting research and their institution.” 

The recipients will be recognized at the undergraduate commencement ceremony on Sunday, June 17 at KeyArena and at the Provost’s Convocation in the fall. They also will receive honoraria.