Summer Faculty Fellows announced

January 18, 2018

Share this

Thirteen SU faculty have been selected as 2018 Summer Faculty Fellows, Interim Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs Kathleen La Voy announced on Jan. 18. The Summer Faculty Fellowship Program provides financial support for tenure-track or tenured faculty and full-time librarians who are involved in an active program of scholarship, including the scholarship of discovery, integration, application and teaching. 

The program’s goal is to support faculty efforts to build on previous scholarly or creative endeavors (e.g. for the writing of grant proposals) or to move projects in a new direction (providing the basis for future external support or publications). 

Following are this year’s faculty recipients and the titles of their projects: 

  • Eric Bahaud (Science and Engineering)– “Perturbative Methods in Differential Geometry”

  • Steven Bender (School of Law)– “Social Impact Advocacy: Transforming Legal Education Toward Meaningful Social Change” 
  • Molly Clark-Hillard (Arts and Sciences)– “Literary Subjects: Re-Reading the Victorians”

  • Serena Cosgrove (Arts and Sciences)– “Surviving the Americas: Resilience and Garifuna Culture in Nicaragua” 
  • Kristen Hultgren (Science and Engineering)– “The Evolution of Specialized Host Associations in a Megadiverse Group of Tropical Snapping Shrimps (Family Alpheidae)”

  • Matthew Isaac (Albers School of Business)– “Is Top 10 Better than Top 10%? How Different Rank Claim Formats Influence Preference” 
  • Brett Kaiser (Science and Engineering)– “Development of Computationally Designed Protein Scaffolds”

  • Lin Li (Science and Engineering)– “Automated Detection of Retinal Lesions for Classification of Diabetic Retinopathy” 
  • Yitan Li (Arts and Sciences)– “Unification through Changing Discourse or by Force? Cross-strait Relations after China’s 19th Party Congress”

  • Rick Malleus (Arts and Sciences)– “Communicating Xenophobia: Perceptions of China and the Chinese in Zimbabwean Culture” 
  • Patrick Murphy (Nursing)– “Chaperone-Mediated Baculoviral Expression of Eukaryotic Transcription Factors: Developing a Novel Biological Technique with Commercial Applications”

  • Jonathan Pierce (Arts and Sciences)– “Emotion, Public Policy, and Environmental Sustainability” 
  • Claus Portner (Albers School of Business)– “Urban Fertility Transitions Across Regions”