Diaconal Ministry Specialization

Below is a list of degree requirements for the Master of Arts in Pastoral Studies degree, Diaconal Ministry Specialization.

  • All credits are quarter credits
  • Years average is based on FT at 3 classes per quarter 

 I. Scripture  

Six credits

  • Hebrew Scriptures
  • Christian Scriptures: Narratives or Christian Scriptures: Letters

II. Systematic and Historical Theology

Twelve credits

  • Christian Anthropology
  • Christology
  • Theology in an Ecumenical Context
  • History of Ancient Christianity or History of Medieval Christianity

III. Spirituality, Ethics, & Justice

Nine credits

  • Christian Ethics
  • Ministry in a Multicultural Context
  • Contemporary Christian Spirituality & Prayer

IV. Pastoral Skills & Ministerial Formation 

Fifteen credits:

  • Pastoral care Skills
  • Fostering Communities of Faith
  • Ministerial/Theological Integration I
  • Ministerial/Theological Integration II
  • Ministerial/Theological Integration III

V. Worship and Liturgy 

Three credits

  • Sacramental & Liturgical Theology or Theology and Practice of Worship

VI. Denominational Specific Requirements

Nine credits

Roman Catholic

  • Deacon Studies I
  • Deacon Studies II
  • Deacon Studies III

Lutheran (ELCA)

  • Lutheran Confessions
  • Advanced Scripture
  • Elective