Latest Updates

Update from your new Staff Council

Written by Staff Council
April 5, 2019

Staff Council Logo

Dear Seattle University Staff,

We are very pleased to inform you that your new Staff Council is now up and running! Since the election, the Staff Council has met twice and will be meeting monthly going forward.

As was announced previously by Fr. Steve last fall, Leann Wagele is serving as President of the SU Staff Council (SUSC) in order to ensure continuity from the Staff Council Steering Committee. One of the council’s first tasks was to elect a Vice President and Secretary. Through that vote, we are pleased to announce that joining Leann on the Staff Council Leadership Team are Katie Bowler (Vice President) and Erin Beary Andersen (Secretary).

Additionally, the Staff Council collectively defined some initial priorities and has created committees to pursue each of these priorities. Each committee will be meeting regularly outside of the broader SUSC meetings. These priorities and committee chairs are as follows:

  1. By-Laws (Leann Wagele)
  2. Review and Compensation (Arsenio Roddy-Little)
  3. Professional Development (ShanShan Tan)
  4. Inclusion and Community (Alexa Goodman)
  5. Communication (Megan Otis)
  6. Staff Recognition and Appreciation (Kit Morse)

You can find out more on the Staff Council website where we have posted our statement of purpose, our charge, summaries of our meetings and other important information.

Finally, we want to represent SU staff voices as accurately as we can, so please know that we are planning to send out a staff survey soon. We want to hear from as many of you as possible, so be on the look-out for the survey to arrive in your inbox later this quarter.

In the meantime, if you wish to communicate with the Staff Council, you can email the entire Staff Council at, you can submit anonymous feedback using a form on our website or you can email individual members using the members list on our website.

Each and every one of us is honored to represent you and to lift up staff voices at Seattle U in a new way. We send this first communication with deepest gratitude for all that you do.


Seattle University Staff Council

Erin Beary Andersen | Campus Ministry
Katie Bowler | Advancement Services
Matt Burton | Facilities Services
Jenn Chan | Education Abroad
Yolanda Cieters | Center for Environmental Justice and Sustainability
Mary Dawson, ex officio | Human Resources
Brittany Goff | Student Financial Services
Alexa Goodman | Human Resources
Angie Jenkins | Learning Assistance Programs
Bernie Liang | Center for Student Involvement
Luke Marney | College of Science and Engineering
Kit Morse | Conference and Event Services
Megan Otis | Marketing Communications
Nick Robinson | Athletics
Arsenio Roddy-Little | Reprographic and Mailing Services
Rosie Sabaric | College of Arts and Sciences
Rebecca Severson | College of Nursing
ShanShan Tan | Premajor Studies
Stephanie Toppin | Counseling and Psychological Services
Leann Wagele | School of Law