Professor Jennifer Loertscher Wins Provost’s Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Jennifer Loertscher, a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry, has been named the 2017 winner of the Provost’s Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching. Dr. Loertscher is a nationally recognized leader in the area of chemical education. She combines her passion for education with pedagogical research and has been the recipient of multiple National Science Foundation grant awards to study and disseminate best practices in science education. Her approach to active learning is carefully guided by the five principles of Ignatian pedagogy: context, experience, reflection, action, and evaluation. She demonstrates a deep care for students and a focus on educating the whole person.