Computer Science Students Declared 2018 Competition Winners

In April 2018, twenty SU Computer Science students competed in the finals of the annual Student IT Architecture Contest (SITAC), put on by IASA Global to promote the education of IT Architecture professionals. Competition was open to both graduate and undergraduate students from across the country.

Seven SU student teams started work in November with mentors from IASA to produce proposals for comprehensive IT architecture solutions to support the operation of a local non-profit organization. Following final presentations by the 14 teams, award recipients were announced. The SU CS team of Joel Aguiar, Vilia Wang and Yue Zhang was declared the 2018 competition winner, receiving a $10,000 prize. SU CS teams also finished second (Mengshan Chen, Karen Marcjan and Chidozie Ononiwu) and third (Jeffrey Atwood, Jay Gooding and Tyler Yamashiro).