Special Awards

Special Awards

New Staff Awards

In August, we will be announcing recipients of the staff awards that are typically given out at the annual appreciation event.

We are launching the following new awards this year:

  • The Living the Mission Award – Recognizes an individual who exemplifies the university’s mission in outstanding ways, whether through their personal conduct, their treatment of others or their life choices.
  • The Spark of Spirit Award – Given to an individual who has had an uplifting and positive influence on colleagues across the university within the past year.
  • Outstanding Staff Team Award – Recognizes outstanding work performed by a team or group of three or more staff members on campus.

These three recognitions were proposed by the Staff Council’s Recognition and Appreciation subcommittee following a survey of staff that revealed a strong interest in developing more awards for SU staff colleagues.

Excellence in Leadership Awards

These three new staff awards will take their place alongside the two existing Excellence in Leadership Awards ordinarily given to staff at the appreciation event—one for exempt staff, the other for non-exempt (formerly known as the Lee Thurber Award).

McGoldrick Fellowship

In addition, we typically honor during the appreciation event a faculty member with the James B. McGoldrick, S.J., Fellowship, which includes a sabbatical for one academic term.

In light of COVID-19, the decision was made to hold off on naming a McGoldrick Fellow for 2020-2021, but we look forward to resuming this award next year and again presenting it at the 2021 event.