Summer 2022 Newsletter

A Note From Dean Swanson

Dr. Kristen M. Swanson, Dean of the College of Nursing

Although the ongoing stressors from the past two years continue, there have been more and more opportunities to enjoy shared experiences on campus again since January. Among them were two special events, the 25th anniversary celebration of the Dr. Eileen Ridgway Nursing Outreach Scholarship program and the inaugural Dr. Luth M. Tenorio College of Nursing Dean’s Endowed Lectureship.

Since 1996, the Dr. Eileen Ridgway Nursing Outreach scholarship program has awarded 31 nursing students (14 undergraduates and 17 graduates) with scholarships. Countless lives have been positively impacted by Ridgway funded student projects. Scholarship recipients have enjoyed opportunities to enhance their skills in academic and community leadership. It was a pleasure to come together in April and enjoy lunch with the current and past year’s scholars, scholarship committee members and others who have dedicated their time and passion to making this program a success.

Many alumni, faculty, staff, and students were in attendance for the Dr. Luth M. Tenorio College of Nursing Dean’s Endowed Lectureship featuring distinguished nurse scholar, Dr. Coretta Jenerette. Her exploration of social justice advocacy as a necessity for health equity was enlightening and thought-provoking. Dr. Jenerette invited all of us to consider our own place on the social justice advocacy continuum. There was great conversation between those in attendance and Dr. Jenerette as the evening concluded.

The highest point was in June, when we were able to hold our first in-person SU commencement since 2019. It was heartening after so much time had passed, to be together and cheer on the class of 2022 graduates. This year 171 BSN, 24 BS in Ultrasound, 73 DNP and 5 Post-Master’s graduates are celebrating completion of their programs of study.

I’m continually impressed by the accomplishments of our students and faculty, many of which you’ll read about in this newsletter.

I would like to congratulate the undergraduate nursing students participating in their Population Health Internship (PHI) under the supervision of Dr. Alic Shook that were part of the SU Office of Wellness and Health Promotion (OWHP) team that received the Vice Provost’s Award for Excellence in 2022. This award goes to a department that has demonstrated dedicated service, consistent advocacy, and outstanding contributions to the division of student development and the students of SU, and to the service of SU students. As members of this team PHI students created, refined, and enhanced programs to better support the needs of the SU community. Congratulations to all OWHP team members on receipt of this honor.

I’d also like to celebrate Dr. Mo-Kyung Sin’s two significant career achievements. In May, she was awarded her second National Institutes of Health (NIH) funded grant, which you can read more about here. She was also selected as a fellow in the American Gerontological Society (GSA) for her outstanding contributions to the field of gerontology. The GSA will formally recognize new fellows at their annual meeting in November. Dr. Sin’s dedication to making a difference in the health of older adults is impressive and these honors are well deserved. Thank you, Dr. Sin, for all you do and for choosing to make those major contributions as part of SU College of Nursing.

Another faculty accomplishment I’d like to mention, Dr. Benjamin Hocutt was designated an Associate of the American College of Cardiology (AACC). Being named as an Associate is one of the most distinguished recognitions offered to its members by the American College of Cardiology (ACC) as it honors those with advanced training and education who have shown a commitment to the profession and the ACC.

I am proud of the work we do at SU College of Nursing to prepare the next generation of compassionate, competent, and confident caregivers. Whether you are a student, alumni, or a beloved colleague in the work of educating and inspiring leaders to transform health care for a just and humane world, thank you for your tireless commitment to the care of others.