Dale Watanabe inducted into honor society

March 15, 2016

Share this

Dale Watanabe, assistant director in the International Student Center, was inducted as an honorary member into the Tau Sigma Gamma Mu Chapter of the National Tau Sigma Transfer Student Honor Society in recognition of his work with international transfer students throughout his career. The induction ceremony took place March 1 in Pigott Auditorium. Ninety-nine new transfer students to Seattle University from 2015 were also inducted. 

Watanabe (center) has worked with the international transfer student population since joining SU in 2001. Dale is a committed leader, social justice advocate and mentor to many international students. 

Tau Sigma is the national academic honor society designed specifically to recognize and promote the academic excellence and involvement of transfer students. SU's chapter is led by students Marissa Huntley as president, Brian Liston-Clark as executive vice president, Samantha Susilo as vice president of finance, Patricia Wu as vice president of community services and Quinn Yackulic as secretary. Co-advising the chapter are Laura Hauck-Vixie, senior academic advisor in the College of Arts and Sciences, and Angel Asuncion-Reed, assistant director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs. 

Watanabe joins the following current and former university administrators, staff and faculty as an honorary member: Diane Schmitz, Dhorea Brown, Audrey Hudgins, Jacob Diaz, Gwen Jackson and Carol Schneider.