Chemistry faculty and students present at national conference

May 7, 2013

Share this

A number of faculty and undergraduate students from SU's Department of Chemistry and other departments, including Elizabeth Ochoa, left, gave presentations at the national meeting of the American Chemical Society in New Orleans this month.

Associate Professors P.J. Alaimo,  Associate Professor Joe Langenhan and Assistant professor Ian Suydam gave an invited talk, "Integrating Profession Training with Organic Chemistry Teaching Labs." Alaimo also presented "Developing a One-Pot Method for the Enantioselective Synthesis of C2- and N-substituted 2, 3-dihydrophyridin-4-ones" with students Ariana Sanchez, Cara Southworth, David Andrews, Amanda Marshall, Marissa Marcotte, Allison Sidor and Colleen Ottinger

Assistant Professor Doug Latch presented "POGIL Activities that Use Climate Change to Teach General Chemistry" as well as "Photochemical Studies of Current Use Bisphenois: BPA Replacements BPS and BPF" with students Amber Hiranaka and Khuyen Thi Tran. Latch also presented "Pyrethroid Pesticides in the Duwamish River Superfund Site: Development and Optimization of Analysis Methods" with Biology Associate Professor Lindsay Whitlow.

Adjunct Faculty Charity Lovitt presented "POGIL and Science Writing in an Interdisciplinary Course on Climate Change" and "Career Advancement as Adjunct Faculty," as well as "How Does the Metal-Metal Distance Influence the Orbitals Available for Electron Transfer in Organometallic Wires?" with student Laurel Howard

Associate Professor Ryan McLaughlin presented "Cold-Surface Photochemistry of Organic Nitrates." 

Professor and Chair Vicky Minderhout gave an invited talk, "Using Threshold Concepts to Drive Curriculum Reform in Biochemistry," with Associate Professor Jenny Loertscher and David Green, director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning.

Assistant Professor Eric Watson, S.J., presented "Synthesis and Reactivity of Novel Bimetallic Triple-Layer Complexes" with students Elizabeth Ochoa, Alexander Watson and Sonam Ghag.