Campus Community / People of SU

Meet the New Alumni Board of Governor Members

Written by Seattle University Alumni Association

September 19, 2022

Alumni Board of Governors - Seattle University Alumni Association

After a record number of applicants, the board adds 11 to its roster. 

Following a thorough and thoughtful process, Seattle University’s Alumni Board of Governors (ABOG) announces the addition of 11 new members, who will serve a three-year term. 

“There’s a high level of energy and enthusiasm among our incoming board members,” says ABOG President Megan Lemieux Bell, ’95. “They bring a wealth of valuable skills, perspectives and voices to the table—both individually and collectively.”

The Alumni Board of Governors is a working group of Seattle University alumni who provide governance, representation and support for the programs and initiatives of the Seattle University Alumni Association (SUAA). Its overarching goal is to offer meaningful ways for alumni to stay engaged and connected with the university.

Assistant Vice President of Alumni Engagement Ellen Whitlock Baker says, “We held an all-call for applications this year, as opposed to a nominating process in the past. We wanted to reach any alum willing to raise their hands to join the board and hoped to do so in the most equitable way possible.”

The board received a record number of applications for open ABOG seats from alumni representing many different graduating years, degrees, majors and professions. The process was managed by the ABOG Recruitment Committee comprised of Bell, Whitlock Baker, current and former ABOG members Megan Cycyota, ’07, Amber Larkin, ’19, Karen Lynn Maher, ’00, Doris Martinez, ’09, ’11, and DJ Weidner ’07, as well as SUAA Operations Coordinator Camaron Farrington.

Bell and the ABOG executive committee have identified three areas of priority for the coming year. “We’ll be focusing our efforts on partnership and professional development, alumni outreach and serving as a hub for our incredible alumni community,” Bell says. “I look forward to serving as ABOG president and collaborating with this amazing team to tackle common goals and new initiatives.” 

The incoming Alumni Board of Governors members are:

  • Trina Blas, ’00, Albers School of Business and Economics (BA, Marketing)
  • Tom Hove, ’17, College of Arts & Sciences (BA Social Work)
  • Arunkumar Jhaveri, ’02, Albers School of Business and Economics (Certificate of Executive Leadership); ’06, College of Education (EdD, PhD in Educational Leadership)
  • Kahlia Keita, ’08, College of Arts & Sciences (BA English)
  • Kristin Kuzmanich, ’06, College of Arts & Sciences (BA English); ’07, College of Education (MIT)
  • Jose Armando Munguia, ’21, College of Arts & Sciences (MPA)
  • Laura Ochoa, ’13, College of Arts & Sciences (MPA)
  • Juliana Balinbin Stachurski, ’00, College of Arts & Sciences (BA History and Philosophy)
  • Shannon Sweeny, ’94, College of Science & Engineering (Biology); ’99, College of Education (MIT)
  • Sherry Williams, ’09, College of Arts & Sciences (MPA)
  • Lola Zakharova, ’12, School of Law (JD)

Learn more about the board, including its full roster.