Campus Community / People of SU

Bannan Scholars 2021-2022

May 25, 2021

Share this

Dean Michael Quinn of the College of Science and Engineering announces the 2021-2022 recipients of the Bannan Scholarship.

Michael Quinn, dean of the College of Science and Engineering, shares the following: 

I am pleased to announce the recipients of the Bannan Scholarship for 2021-2022. As you may know, this scholarship program is named for its benefactor, Thomas J. Bannan, a leader in manufacturing, commerce, engineering and applied sciences and a man with a deep commitment to Seattle University. 

To be eligible for a Bannan scholarship, a student must be an undergraduate junior or senior with a full-time major in the College of Science and Engineering. The applicant must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and have a demonstrated commitment to serving both the university and the greater community. The applicant must submit a biographical sketch, a personal statement describing volunteer service and a faculty recommendation. 

Bannan Scholars are selected in the spring quarter by the Bannan Selection Committee following an extensive selection process. This year the committee was comprised of Drs. Heather Brown, John Carter, Kristy Skogerboe and Claire Strebinger. Following an award of the scholarship, the student makes a personal commitment to actively participate in the program’s activities. The annual scholarship award is $6000, applicable to tuition expenses, and is renewable for one year if academic parameters and program commitments are met. 

The 2021-2022 Thomas J. Bannan Scholars are: 

  • Juliana Andrade, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Lair'Nique Baker-Bruce, Biology
  • Matthew Baysa, Mechanical Engineering
  • Carlos Bello, Computer Science
  • Veronica Carpenter*, Computer Science
  • Kellsie Delgado, Biology
  • Plamedi Diakubama, Computer Science
  • Jamie Elrod, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Nestor Iwanojko*, Mathematics
  • Megan Kawamura*, Biology
  • Reece Keller*, Mathematics/Physics
  • Alyssa Konopaski*, Chemistry
  • Jordan Lo, Chemistry
  • Megan Martindale, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Lan Nguyen*, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Jazmine Patten, Environmental Science
  • Quinn Peters*, Biology
  • Benjamin Ries-Roncalli, Mathematics
  • Max Schmidt-Bailey, Biology
  • Kyle Sherick*, Mechanical Engineering
  • Shujah Sial, Mathematics
  • Abigail Spray, Chemistry
  • Phuong Tang*, Computer Science
  • Loan Tran, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Sky Verzosa, Biology
  • Yao Yao, Computer Science 

Note: * denotes second year Bannan Scholarship recipient

Share this