People of SU

Student Awards

Written by Mike Thee

May 18, 2018

Red Night Out Awards Ceremony

Excellence, exemplary leadership and service was recognized at Red Night Out.

SU students were recognized for their excellence in academic achievement and outstanding leadership and service at the annual Red Night Out Celebration and Awards event on May 17. 

“Please join me in congratulating the 2018 campus-wide award recipients,” President Stephen Sundborg, S.J., wrote to faculty and staff. “These students and student groups represent the many facets of the Seattle University mission including the university’s values of care, academic excellence, diversity, faith, justice and leadership.” 

Following are the 2018 recipients. 

The Archbishop Raymond G. Hunthausen Award: Gabriel Narvaez (Sociology) and Someireh Amirfaiz (Educational Leadership) 

Distinguished Graduating Students: Haleema Bharoocha (Sociology), Pa Ousman Jobe (Business Administration), Tucker Price (Cell and Molecular Biology and Mathematics), Mariah Ramirez (Transformational Leadership) and Edward Salcedo (Nursing) 

The Mission Award for Care: Karina Cole (Humanities for Teaching) 

The Mission Award for Academic Excellence: Julia Davis (Nursing) 

The Mission Award for Diversity: Misato Muraoka (Business Administration) 

The Mission Award for Faith: Julia Gmeiner (Biology) 

The Mission Award for Justice: Jorge Lara Alvarado (Civil Engineering) 

The Mission Award for Leadership: Ann Marie Zocchi (History) 

Spirit of Seattle U: Marley Bredehoeft (Biology), Kasi Gaarenstroom (Environmental Studies, with a specialization in Education and Communication) and Ian Wuertz (English/Creative Writing) 

Peter Faber Integrity Award: Nicky Manlove (Interdisciplinary Arts) and Anab Nur (Public Affairs) 

Outstanding Organization: Gender Justice Center 

Best Event of 2018: Take Back the Night by HAWC (Health and Wellness Crew)

The following faculty and staff participated in the selection of the student recipients:

AyeNay Abye – Center for Community Engagement
Angel Asuncion-Reed – Center for Student Involvement
Gretchenrae Campera – Student Success and Outreach
Laura Hauck-Vixie – College of Arts and Sciences
Sue Ann Huang – Housing and Residence Life
Michelle Kim – Office of Multicultural Affairs
Tammy Liddell – Campus Ministry
Sydney Lobosco – Center for Student Involvement
Gina Lopardo – Education Abroad
Frank Shih – Academic Assembly and the College of Science and Engineering
Dale Watanabe – International Student Center