Alumni Leading by Example

Campus community comes together to honor remarkable individuals who are leaders in their professions, difference-makers in their communities and change-makers in the lives of others.

For the past 35 years, Seattle University has celebrated and elevated alumni who are making a difference by bestowing on them awards recognizing their considerable talents and contributions. They are exceptional leaders, are in service to the university and community, demonstrate a commitment to care and compassion, promote diversity and justice and exemplify SU’s Jesuit values. On February 10, the following individuals were honored in a ceremony at Pigott Auditorium: Ana White, ’95, named Alumna of the Year; Archie Roundtree, Jr., ’18 JD, selected as Outstanding Recent Alumnus; Mary Ann Goto, ’79, awarded for University Service; Rolita Flores Ezeonu, ’06 EdD, for Professional Achievement; and Tom Roach, ’71, for Community Service. Also, for the first time as part of the Alumni Awards, two outstanding alumni athletes were inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame: women’s soccer standout Stephanie Verdoia, ’15, and men’s star player Kyle Bjornethun, ’21. Congratulations to this year’s deserving recipients!

Photos by Parker Wichelmann.

A projection screen featuring this year's winners.

This year’s event marked a return to an in-person awards ceremony.

This year's winners with their awards.

Congrats to all the Alumni Award winners and the newest inductees into the Athletics Hall of Fame.

A shot of the crowd mingling during reception.

The campus community mingles in Paccar Atrium. 

Ana White at the podium.

Alumna of the Year Ana White, ’95

Archie Roundtree speaking at podium.

Outstanding Recent Alumnus Archie Roundtree, Jr., ’18 JD 


Tom Roach at podium

Community Service award winner Tom Roach, ’71

Mary Ann Goto at podium

University Service recipient Mary Ann Goto, ’79

Photo of Rolita on stage

Professional Achievement award recipient Rolita Flores Ezeonu, ’06 EdD

Trio of athletics hall of famers and athletic director.

Athletics Director Shaney Fink with new inductees into the Athletics Hall of Fame: Kyle Bjornethun, ’21, and Stephanie Verdoia, ’15. 

Group shot of all winners

President Eduardo Peñalver, Assistant Vice President of Alumni Engagement Ellen Whitlock Baker and Athletics Director Shaney Fink pose with the winners.

Back to top