THE UNIVERSITY NON-TENURE-TRACK COMMITTEE – CHARTER Adopted 5-29-2020

I. PURPOSE

The purpose of the committee is to represent, gather input from, advocate for, and disseminate information to all Non-Tenure-Track (NTT) faculty at Seattle University. It acts in an advisory capacity to the Provost and the Academic Assembly regarding issues of particular interest to NTT faculty.

II. DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The University NTT Committee shall have the following duties and responsibilities:

- Representing NTT faculty, full and part-time, across all colleges and schools;
- Gathering feedback from the NTT community regarding issues of particular interest to NTT faculty;
- Advocating on behalf of NTT Faculty on issues affecting their work and role in the university;
- Disseminating information of particular interest to the NTT faculty community at large;
- Advising the Provost and Academic Assembly regarding issues of particular interest to NTT faculty;
- Submitting a brief annual written report to the AcA concerning its activities over the preceding year;
- Administering the selection of Committee Membership.

III. MEMBERSHIP

Composition. The committee will seek membership from all schools and colleges across the university. Apportionment of representatives to the University NTT Committee will be reviewed for change in accordance with changes to Academic Assembly. Each school or unit will have one base representative plus additional representatives determined by its proportional number of full-time-equivalent faculty to mirror Academic Assembly representation. The distribution of the representatives will be as follows:

- College of Arts & Sciences, 3 (1 base plus 2 proportional)
- College of Science & Engineering, 2 (1 base plus 1 proportional)
- Albers School of Business & Economics, 1 (1 base plus 0 proportional)
- College of Education, 1 (1 base plus 0 proportional)
- College of Nursing, 1 (1 base plus 0 proportional)
- Part-Time Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Members, 2 (2 base minimum)
- NTT representative from AcA, 1 (1 base)

And, at a minimum, the above representation will include:

- Senior Instructors, 2
- Clinical Faculty, 2

If sufficient volunteers to satisfy the particular compartmentalization above are not found, additional members from other colleges may serve instead, up to one additional representative in each school. Eligible faculty members must not be on the tenure line, must have a teaching contract of appointment for the following year, and must have at least three quarters of teaching experience at SU prior to their service on the committee.

Co-Chairs. Two or three (2-3) Co-chairs shall be elected (or re-elected) by the membership at the beginning of each academic year and shall serve for that academic year.

Term. The term of service on the University NTT Committee shall be three (3) years, subject to reappointment to a second three (3) year term. Terms shall be staggered. To create the staggered terms, upon the creation of the University NTT committee, five (5) of the first eleven (11) members appointed shall be appointed for an initial term of two (2) years. Membership of part-time (PT) faculty on the Committee requires a year-long commitment, and PT members receive a stipend for their year of service to the committee.

IV. MEETINGS

The University NTT committee shall meet quarterly at a minimum, regularly reports on its efforts, and solicits input from all NTT faculty via the NTT listserv. The Committee also meets at least quarterly with the Associate Provost for Faculty Issues and the Provost.

Quorum. The majority of the existing members of the University NTT Committee shall constitute a quorum.

* * *