Zoombombing

Zoombombing: What It is and How to Prevent It

Zoombombing occurs when uninvited participants show up in your Zoom session and present undesirable content to one or more participants.

Though Zoombombing is mostly prevented if you set up your Zoom sessions within your Canvas course, CDLI recommends that faculty take additional preventative measures by allowing only authenticated users to join their course meetings.

Ensure Only Authenticated Users Can Join Your Course Meetings

After you have set up all of your course meetings through the Canvas Zoom integration, you can use Seattle University’s Main Zoom Portal to ensure that only students with Seattle University accounts can enter your meetings. To do this, go to the SU Zoom Portal, find one of your course meetings, and click on its name to open. At the bottom of the page you will find the Edit this Meeting button.

A popup window will open asking if you want to edit only this meeting or “All.” Choose All if you have set up recurring meetings so the settings will be applied to all of your recurring meetings for the course.

 

 

Then check the box labeled Only authenticated users can join and Save.

 

To manage the sharing of content, adjust these Zoom settings:

To begin, log into seattleu.zoom.us and click “Settings” on the left menu:



 

1. Screen Sharing:

  • Who can share? Select “Host Only”.
    (Note: You can override this during the meeting to allow other students/participants to share their screen.)
  • Who can start sharing when someone else is sharing? Select “Host Only”

2. File transfer: Reset this to disallow file transfer through the in-meeting Chat.


To manage unwanted participants from entering your Zoom meeting:

Should you become aware of an uninvited participant, you can remove the participant and not allow them to rejoin.

1. Allow host to put attendee on hold - Yes



NOTE: When you are in a Zoom meeting, you can click on “Manage Participants” in the host controls. Hover over the name of the attendee you want to put on hold. Click More, then Put on hold.)

2. Allow removed participants to rejoin - No