Transition Learning Communities

Transition Learning Communities (TLCs)

Used under page titles

Through a coordinated set of workshops and meetings, CCTS Transition Specialists and DVR Pre-Employment Transition Consultants are collaborating with TLCs in 15 pilot sites (representing 30 school districts) to establish goals and action plans grounded in transition research to increase positive post-school outcomes for their students.

Pilot sites are either 

  • Single-districts (Bethel, Chimacum, Franklin-Pierce, Kittitas, Mercer Island, North Thurston, Oak Harbor, South Kitsap, Vancouver, Washington State School for the Blind), or
  • Two or more districts working together as a single collaborative (Colville, Kettle Falls, Mary Walker, Northport, and Republic; Creston, Davenport, Harrington, Lind/Ritzville, Rearden-Edwall, and Wilbur; Chehalis and Rochester; College Place and Walla Walla; Cascade, Cashmere, Eastmont, and Wenatchee).

Districts were selected based on their responses to application questions, which included the completion of the Quality Indicators for Secondary Transition (QuIST). Pilots that were selected demonstrated a familiarity with their Indicator 14 data and a commitment to improving post-school outcomes.