banner for events for the place-based justice network

Want to Get Involved?

PBJN is made possible by support from the Annie E. Casey Foundation

Save the Date: (Virtual) Summer Institute 2021 

 

Summer Institute 2021 July 28-30th 2021

 

Our guiding theme for this year is Building Accountable Practices and Transforming Power in Place-Based Work. 

The Institute will be held virtually from Wednesday, July 28 to Friday, July 30th from 10am - 2pm PT | 1pm - 5pm ET in addition to offering optional, asynchronous content.

PBJN Summer Institutes are an annual opportunity for colleagues to gather and share strategies, lessons learned and explore pressing questions about how to do the work of connecting campuses and communities in ways that align with the Network’s collective values. Each day we will begin with a framing dialogue shared by leaders in our field that embody the values of the network and model the practices we hope to explore throughout the Summer Institute. 

We look forward to sharing this space with you in July. We will be providing additional information including a more comprehensive note on framing, invitations to facilitate, guidance on forming a campus-community team, registration and more soon! 

 

 

 

Place Based Justice Network BIPOC Healing Circles and White Affinity and Accountability Circles

BIPOC Healing Circles + New BIPOC mailing list 

Our intention for this Healing Circle is to provide a place where people of color can work with their peers on their experiences of internalized racism, for healing, and to work on liberation. Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) members of the PBJN are invited to join a monthly healing circle held the last week of each month. 

*NEW* BIPOC PBJN Member E-mail List:  
The Place-Based Justice Network (PBJN) is forming a list for Black, Indigenous and People of Color to receive announcements and information about events specific to the BIPOC community. Please opt-in to receive these communications: https://forms.gle/3ctiCn2oFMY2CJWaA 

Questions? Please reach out to 
Roxanne De La Torre at roxannedlt@gmail.com or 
Julia Anderson at janderson@democracycollaborative.org

Save the date for the June BIPOC Healing Circle: 

  • Tuesday, May 25th, 12-1:30pm PST | 2-3:30pm CST | 3-4:30pm EST, co-facilitated by Julie Hurst (SeattleU) and Andy Choi 
  • Wednesday, June 23rd at 12-1:30 PST | 2-3:30pm CST | 3-4:30pm EST, will be co-facilitated by Jamilah Ducar (UPitt) and Demetri Morgan (Loyola Chicago). 

White Affinity and Accountability Circles (WAAC)

The WAAC will meet on the 3rd Monday of each month, April-June 2021, to build community and support accountability to unlearn racism and build our capacity to incorporate anti-racist efforts into our Place-Based Work. Each meeting will include resource sharing, skill-building, and community gathering with a focus on addressing how racism works in our daily lives on individual, interpersonal and structural levels. 

We offer these sessions with the hope and intent that folks can attend all the meetings in an effort to support community building and as a way of "building a white culture" that dismantles "white body supremacy" (Menakem, 2017). 

Save the date for the next June White Affinity Circle: 
Monday, May 17th, 10-11am PST | 1-2pm EST faciliatted by Karin Cotterman and Erin O'Keefe
Monday, June 21st, 10-11am PST | 1-2pm EST faciliatted by Karin Cotterman and Erin O'Keefe

Please contact Erin Burrows, burrower@seattleu.edu to receive links to register. PBJN Racial Affinity circles are open to faculty, staff and community partners of our Member Institutions.