Announcing the 2022 HSBPC Final Four & Special Recognition Award Winners

April 25, 2022

The Harriet Stephenson Business Plan Competition Semi-Finals was such a successful event! We had an incredible turnout, and were thrilled to see so many come and support the teams through these challenging times. Each and every one of them spent tremendous time and energy on their business plans, which made it very difficult to determine these awards. 

Thank you to all of you who participated in the event. We truly could not make this experience extraordinary without you. Based on the scores of our Pitch Competition Judges and Trade Show Judges, we are proud to announce our Final Four as well as the teams receiving Special Recognition Awards. RSVP for the May 20 Finals and Awards Celebration at the bottom of this page.

Finalist Teams

1st Place Sponsored by the Herbert B. Jones Foundation ($10,000), 2nd Place Sponsored by John Meisenbach ($5,000), 3rd Place In Memory of by Don Leuthold ($3,000), 4th Place Sponsored by Lindsey and Kris McGrew ($2,000)

45th Street Seating

Blake Garfield, LEMBA ’22 and Krystal Garfield, PMBA `22


Anna Del Toro, LEMBA ’20


Anthony Ansay, Bridge MBA ‘22, Sanjana Satheesh, Bridge MBA ‘22, Melissa Kallander, Bridge MBA ‘22 and Kenny He, Bridge MBA ‘22


Jaidev Vella, Business Management ’22 and Joseph "JP", Newmann Interdisciplinary Studies ’22

Special Recognition Award Winners

Outplayed Gaming - John Castle Award

Sponsored by Jeff Widmyer and Friends of John Castle, in his memory ($2,000)

Kevin Hernon, Bridge MBA ‘22, Alvaro Vazquez, BABA ‘22, Emma Tamura, Bridge MBA ‘22, Jessica Berlin, Bridge MBA ‘22, and Ahmed Ugas, Bridge MBA ‘22

Inspire Kids Early Learning - Social Innovation Award

Sponsored by Elaine Baylor ($1,000)

Preeti Suryakumar, PMBA ‘22, Ananya Jauhari, MS Finance ‘22 and Nasteha Muse, MBA ‘20

tech4REFUGEES - Pitch Judges Award

Sponsored by Kurt Wedgwood ($500)

Afrikaan Sahra, Computer Science ‘22

Sanima Millk - Tradeshow Judges Award

Sponsored by Friends of the IEC ($250)

Chris Dempewolf, LEMBA ‘22

Spin Doctor - Audience Choice Award

Sponsored by Friends of the IEC ($250)

Siddarth Bhagwat, MBA '21 and Casey Gould, MBA ‘22


Every Body Clothing Co. Carson Price, Marketing ’25

Reset Mind and Body Wendy Hohmann, LEMBA ‘22

Used under page titles

Attend the Finals & Awards Celebration!

Friday, May 20, 2022 at 5-8pm | The Collective (400 Dexter Ave)

Four Finalist Teams will present 10-minute pitches to a panel of Expert Judges to compete for the $10,000 Grand Prize!

RSVP Required: Book your tickets today!