David Leigh, SJ, receives 2017-2018 McGoldrick Fellowship

May 5, 2017

Seattle University President Stephen V. Sundborg, SJ, announced today that David Leigh, S.J., professor of English, is the 2017-2018 recipient of the McGoldrick Fellowship. Named for Father James McGoldrick, a beloved Seattle University Jesuit, the fellowship recognizes an extraordinary faculty member who embodies the mission and values of our institution.

Father Leigh is the first Jesuit to receive the McGoldrick Fellowship. He joined Seattle University’s faculty in 1983, having previously taught at Gonzaga University. For three and a half decades and counting, he has been recognized as an excellent teacher and mentor. Whether he is teaching an introductory or upper level course, or a seminar offered to alumni, Father Leigh is deeply committed to the academic growth and well-being of his students.

Father Leigh’s incredible impact in the classroom is matched by his exceptional work as a scholar. He has authored two books, dozens of articles and book chapters and more than 50 book reviews, while presenting at numerous conferences and meetings.

In addition to his teaching and research commitments, Father Leigh has contributed steady leadership as department chair, director of the Honors Program and president of the Academic Assembly, to name a few of the administrative roles he has held through the years. His service to our university community has taken many forms. An active member on several university-wide committees, Father Leigh is often sought out for his quiet but influential wisdom and insight on how the institution can improve and more fully and effectively live out its Jesuit, Catholic ethos. Father Leigh’s leadership is equally valued beyond our campus. He has served on a number of boards, including that of Gonzaga University.

The McGoldrick Fellowship, which includes a one-quarter or semester sabbatical, is the most prestigious award conferred upon Seattle University faculty. Congratulations to Father David Leigh on his well-deserved recognition as the 2017-2018 McGoldrick Fellow.