2018 College of Arts and Sciences Awards Summer Faculty Fellowships

Ten faculty members who were awarded 2018 Summer Fellowships
Written by Karen L. Bystrom
May 10, 2018

Sonora Jha, PhD, Associate Dean for Academic Community and Professor, Department of Communication recently announced the College of Arts and Sciences has awarded promotion and research fellowships to ten faculty members.

Promotion Fellowship

  • Dr. Chris Paul (Communication) -Free to Play and Bias: A Changing Landscape for Video Games.

Dean's Summer Research Fellowship

  • Dr. Erica Rauff (Kinesiology) - Longitudinal Study of Weight & Health Behaviors in First-Year College Students
  • Dr. Aakanksha Sinha, Social Work (Partial Funding for student research)- Undervalued and Over-represented: Voices of Migrant Domestic Workers in India.

Summer Research Fellowships

  • Dr. Amelia Derr (Anthropology, Sociology and Social Work) - Specific Challenges to Immigrant Wellbeing and Strategies for Wellness Promotion
  • Dr. El Hadji Malick Ndiaye (Modern Languages and Cultures & Global African Studies) - Discovering Untold Stories: Narratives of Senegalese Analogue Photographs in the Digital Era
  • Dr. Julie Homchick Crowe (Communication) - Creation Nation: Creation Science, Alternative Facts, and Public Discourse.
  • Dr. Nalini Iyer (English) - At Home Nowhere: Racialization, Citizenship, and Belonging in South Asian American Literature.
  • Dr. Susan Meyers (English) - Move: A Memoir for the Americas.
  • Dr. Sean McDowell (English) - Henry Vaughan's Poetic Return to Wales: The Bardic Tradition and Silex Scintillans
  • Dr. Kirsten Thompson (Film Studies) - Breezy Brands and Creative Commercials: Animated Advertising in Cinema, Television and New Media.

She recognized the judging panel, Dr. Angelique Davis, Dr. Naomi Hume, Dr. Molly Welsh, and Dr. Tanya Hayes and acknowledged Kate Reynolds for her administrative support.

Faculty and staff on the 2018 Summer Fellowship judging panel


Top: First Row: Dr. Chris Paul, Dr. Erica Rauff, Dr. Aakanksha Sinha, Dr. Amelia Derr, Dr. El Hadji Malick Ndiaye. Second Row: Dr. Julie Homchick Crowe, Dr. Nalini Iyer, Dr. Susan Meyers, Dr. Sean McDowell, Dr. Kirsten Thompson.

Bottom: Dr. Sonora Jha, Dr. Angelique Davis, Dr. Naomi Hume, Dr. Molly Welsh, Dr. Tanya Hayes, and Kate Reynolds.