Fifteen Arts and Sciences Students Named Naef Scholars

Written by Karen L. Bystrom
May 18, 2018

SU President, Stephen V. Sundborg, SJ, announced the recipients of the 2018-2019 Naef Scholarship., including 15 College of Arts & Sciences students. Congratulations to:

  • Molly Brown, Junior, Political Science and Public Affairs
  • Evelyn Chow*, Senior, Philosophy and Sociology
  • Leah Dooley, Junior, Women & Gender Studies and English
  • Kennedy Dresh*, Senior, Environmental Studies and English
  • Marta Gamez*, Senior, Strategic Communications
  • Kate Hannick*, Senior, Public Affairs and Economics
  • Ricki Lieu, Junior, Anthropology
  • Claire Lucas*, Senior, Psychology and Theology & Religious Studies
  • Erin Phelps, Junior, Communications and Interdisciplinary Arts
  • Maddie Piper, Senior, BAHT and Environmental Studies
  • Justina Portillo, Junior, Criminal Justice
  • Mariana Renteria Hernandez, Junior, Psychology and Criminal Justice
  • Margaret Roberts, Senior, Philosophy and English
  • Falen Wilkes, Junior, Philosophy and History
  • Haley Witt, Senior, Communication and Media

*Returning Naef Scholar

Along with the Sullivan Scholars and Bannan Scholars, the Naef Scholars are among the university’s very finest students. The Naef scholarship is made possible by an endowment gift from the estate of Sue M. Naef. To be eligible for the scholarship, students must be undergraduates in their junior and senior years who have maintained a GPA of 3.4 or above. They must also demonstrate leadership potential and a commitment to serving the university and the wider community. Naef Scholars are selected after a very extensive selection process, which takes place in the spring. They must receive endorsements from faculty and staff and undergo interviews before being chosen by the Naef Scholarship Selection Committee.