Alumni Awards – 30 Years

Posted by Caitlin Joyce on Wednesday, March 4, 2015 at 9:59 PM PST

This year, the Seattle University Alumni Awards celebrates its 30th anniversary. But how did this tradition get its start? We spoke to Mark Burnett, Director of Alumni Relations at the time, to get the scoop.

The Alumni Awards were formed shortly after Seattle University moved to Division II.  Many alumni events were focused on athletics so the alumni office looked for other ways to engage alumni-the first Alumni Awards Celebration was born.

Hosted at the Olympic Four Seasons Hotel (now the Fairmont Olympic Hotel), the first ceremony offered eight awards to honor the Seattle University community and its commitment to Jesuit values. 

“Our first Alumnus of the Year was Rhoady Lee, someone who was very committed to Seattle University and it was very special to be able to honor him. The great thing about the awards is that they allow us to honor those people well known to the community and shine a light on those who are not as widely recognized,” Burnett said.

“The Alumni Awards celebration has been successful in creating a sense of pride in the university. Over the last 30 years more than 200 alumni from across our various schools and colleges, each one representing who we are as a university. All of our winners have shown their dedication to community service, something we at Seattle University excel at.” 

Just a few of our past winners include philanthropist Bill Eisiminger ’67, Medal of Honor recipient, Will Swenson, ’01, community advocate, Lorena Gonzalez,’05, successful businessman, John Meisenbach ’60,  Restaurateur, Mick McHugh, ’65, and non-profit leader, Gordon McHenry,’79.

This April, the Alumni Awards Celebration returns to where it all began, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel, where we will not only honor our 2015 winners, but all those who have won over the past 30 years. 

We hope you’ll join us to celebrate 30 years of outstanding leadership and service this April.

30th Annual Alumni Awards Celebration
Saturday, April 18, 2015
6:00-10:00 p.m.
Fairmont Olympic hotel
2015 Winners

Alumna of the Year – Doreen Marchione, ‘62

University Service – Joe Zavaglia, ‘71

Community Service  - Clayton Pitre, ‘68

Professional Achievement – Margaret Heitkemper, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, ’73

Distinguished Faculty – Phillip Thompson, Ph.D., P.E.

Outstanding Recent Alumnus –  Derek Rogalsky, ‘10

Tickets are available online now.