Seattle University Youth Initiative
About Us

Advisory Board

  • The Seattle University Youth Initiative Director, staff and partners receive strategic guidance from an Advisory Board consisting of a diverse group of campus and community leaders.  The Board meets formally three times per year.

    SUYI Advisory Board Members 


    • Stephen Sundborg S.J. (University President)
    • Kent Koth (Executive Director, Center for Community Engagement)

    Seattle University

    • Senait Gebregiorgis (Arts and Science, Undergraduate Student)
    • Michele Murray (Vice President, Student Development)
    • Joe Orlando (Assistance Vice President, Mission and Ministry)
    • Deanna Sands (Dean, College of Education)
    • Kristen Swanson (Dean, College of Nursing)

    SUYI Partners

    • Senait Gebregiorgis (Community Health Worker, Neighborcare Health)
    • Asfaha Lemlem (RecTech Director, Yesler Community Center)
    • Andrew Lofton (Executive Director, Seattle Housing Authority)
    • Sarah Pritchett (Executive Director of Schools, Seattle Public Schools)
    • Maiko Winkler-Chin (Executive Director, SCIDPDA)

    At-Large Community Leaders

    • Carol Ann Barnickol (SU Regent and SU Alumna)
    • David Bley (Director, Gates Foundation Pacific Northwest Initiative and SU Alumnus)
    • Mary Frazier (Community volunteer, CASA and Amara)
    • Rodney Hines (Director, Global Responsibility Starbucks)
    • Bob Hurlbut (Director, Ellison Foundation)
    • Cat Martin (Global Philanthropy, JP Morgan Chase Northwest)
    • Solynn McCurdy (Senior Manager of Community Relations, Premera Blue Cross)
    • Holly Miller (Director, City of Seattle Office of Education)
    Last updated 11/3/15