University Core Curriculum
Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

  • During the 2014-2015 academic year, the University Core office will offer a series of workshops and development opportunities for Seattle University faculty to continue developing Core courses. Additionally, resource materials for faculty and staff can be found on both the Faculty and Advisor pages.

    Approved Core Courses as of February 20, 2015.

    Core Governance:  The Core is managed by the Director, who is responsible for leading efforts in faculty development, managing the effective delivery and assessment of the curriculum, managing the Core office, representing the Core across the campus, and implementing initiatives and policies as determined by the Core Executive Committee, Academic Assembly, and the Board of Trustees.   The Director works closely with three key committees: 

    Core Executive Committee:  This is the main governance committee for the University Core.   It is responsible for setting Core policies, maintaining and adjusting curriculum requirements, overseeing the review of course proposals, and developing recommendations for ways to improve the curriculum. 

         AY 14-15 members: 
         Jeff Philpott, University Core/Communication, Committee Chair
         Christina Roberts, English, Art & Sciences representative
         Brian Kelly, Economics, Albers School representative
         Susan Matt, Nursing, College of Nursing representative
         Mara Rempe, Chemistry/Associate Dean, Science & Engineering
         Heath Spencer, History, Academic Assembly Representative
         Brenda Bourns, Biology, Non-Tenure Track Faculty representative
         Lynn Deeken, Library representative
         Monica Nixon, Student Development representative
         Margaret Gorini, Undergraduate Student, SGSU representative
         Paulette Kidder, Philosophy, Core Curriculum Committee Chair
         Unfilled, Core Assessment Committee Chair 
         (Dr. Philpott is currently chairing the Assessment committee)

    Core Curriculum Committee:   This committee reviews all Core course proposals, manages a cycle of periodic review of previously approved courses, makes recommendations to the Core Executive Committee regarding the course submission and review process, as well as recommendations regarding ways to improve the University Core.  

         AY 14-15 members:
         Paulette Kidder, Philosophy, Chair
         Katya Emm, Finance, Albers School representative
         Ryan McLaughlin, Chemistry, Science & Engineering representative
         Claire Garoutte, Fine Arts, Arts & Sciences representative
         Yitan Li, Political Science, Arts & Sciences representative
         Hilary Hawley, English, Arts & Sciences representative
         Unfilled, College of Nursing representative

    Core Assessment Committee:  This committee plans and organizes systematic efforts to collect evidence regarding student learning in the Core, reviews data on student learning and the effectiveness of Core courses, makes regular reports to the Core Executive Committee, and makes recommendations to the Core Executive Committee regarding proposed changes in Core courses and pedagogy in order to improve students’ mastery of the Core Learning Objectives. 

         AY 14-15 members: 
         Jeff Philpott, University Core/Communication, Chair
         Yantao Wang, Marketing, Albers representative
         Wes Lauer, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Science &
              Engineering representative
         Susan Meyers, English, Arts & Sciences representative
         Bob Duniway, Assistant VP for Planning, Institutional
              Research representative
         Charles Lawrence, Associate Provost, Provost’s Office representative
         Unfilled, College of Nursing representative

  • Faculty/Staff Events

    Faculty Development Workshops for AY14-15 will be posted as soon as possible.