Spirit of Community Celebration is April 24

The Center for Service and Community Engagement and President Stephen Sundborg, S.J., invite you, members of the Seattle University community, community partners and friends to a very special Spirit of Community Celebration Tuesday, April 24. Please join us as we officially celebrate Seattle University being chosen to receive the 2012 Presidential Award for community service. This award is the highest honor the federal government confers on a college or university for civic engagement, service learning and volunteerism. 

We are pleased to announce this year's Spirit of Community Award Recipients listed below and we look forward to honoring their achievements during our program that will also include brief remarks from Deryl Bailey, William Allen Endowed Chair and Distinguished Professor in SU's College of Education. Following the presentation enjoy refreshments and view a poster session highlighting community engagement work of undergraduate and graduate students, including photographs from Claire Garoutte's Documentary Photography for Social Change Course.

2012 Spirit of Community Award Recipients


Rosie Garibaldi
Senior, Social Work, College of Arts & Sciences

Adam Tousley
Graduate Student, Master of Public Administration,
College of Arts & Sciences

Francesca Murnan
Senior, Public Affairs, College of Arts & Sciences


Jennifer Tilghman-Havens
Associate Director, Jesuit Mission & Identity


Marie Wong
Associate Professor, Institute of Public Service, College of Arts & Sciences

Le Xuan Hy
Associate Professor, Psychology, College of Arts & Sciences


Asfaha Lemlem 
Yesler Terrace Computer Lab


DATE OF EVENT: Tuesday, April 24
EVENT TIME: 4-6 p.m.
EVENT LOCATION: Campion Ballroom

AUDIENCE: Faculty , Staff , Students


1 | 2 | Single page