College of Arts and Sciences
Faculty and Staff Resources

Executive Committee

  • A&S Executive Committee

    The Arts and Sciences Executive Committee (EC) is a shared governance body of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) and advisory body to the Dean. The body provides a mechanism to discuss daily business, policy and larger philosophical and strategic issues. Its functions include leadership, administrative and policy-making responsibilities.

    The Arts and Sciences Executive Committee consists of the Dean, Associate Deans, and Chairs and Program Directors of all the degree programs in the College of Arts and Sciences, except for degree programs that exist under the auspices of a department. 


    See College of Arts and Sciences Shared Governance Bylaws

    2015-16 Executive Committee Membership



    David Powers, Dean

    Kan Liang, Associate Dean for Arts and Humanities

    Kathleen La Voy, Associate Dean for Social Sciences and Professional Programs

     Rob Efird, Chair, Anthropology, Sociology, & Social Work

    Naomi Hume, Chair, Art and Art History

    Enyu Zhang, Director, Asian Studies

    Chris Paul, Chair, Communication

    Jacqueline Helfgott, Chair, Criminal Justice

    Charles Tung, Acting Chair, English

    Gordon Miller, Director, Environmental Studies

    Tom Taylor, Chair,  History

    Sean McDowell, Director,  Honors Program

    Larry Hubbell, Director,  Institute of Public Service

    Rob Andolina, Director, International Studies

    Sven Arvidson, Director,   Liberal Studies

    LTC Kerry Norman, Chair,  Military Science

    Victor Reinking, Chair, Modern Languages & Cultures

    Maureen Feit, Director, Nonprofit Leadership

    Rosa Joshi, Acting Chair, Performing Arts and Arts Leadership

    Maria Carl, Chair,  Philosophy

    Jacquelyn Miller, Acting Chair, Political Science

    Erica Lilleleht, Chair,  Psychology

    Maylon Hanold, Acting Director, Sport and Exercise Science

    Eric Dugan, Director, Study of Sport & Exercise (Center for)

    Sharon Suh, Chair, Theology/Religious Studies

    Christina Roberts, Director, Women Studies

    Non-voting Members

    Em Olsen, Elected Staff Representative

    Kate Elias, Assistant Dean for Student Academic Support

    Sally Hogan, Budget and Operations Manager

    Laura Paskin, Director of Marketing and Communication

    Rhonda Woods, Academic Program Manager

    Heather Reis Fike, Administrative Coordinator to the Deans (provides administrative support to the EC)


    2015-16 Meeting Schedule and Minutes




    September 18    Retreat

    October 7          EC Meeting - Cancelled

    October 28        EC Meeting

    November 18    EC Meeting

    December 2       Closed Budget Session 

    December 9     EC Meeting




    January 6          EC Meeting         

    January 27        EC Meeting

    February 17       EC Meeting

    March 9            EC Meeting




    March 30          EC Meeting

    April 20             EC Meeting

    May 11             EC Meeting

    June 1              EC Meeting


    Archived minutes from prior years may be accessed by request to the Dean's Assistant.