College of Arts and Sciences


  • Fourteen A&S Students Receive Naef Scholarships

    May 4, 2011

    In an announcement by President Stephen Sundborg, S.J., 14 Arts and Sciences students were awarded 2011-12 Naef scholarships. To be eligible for the scholarship, students must be undergraduates in their junior and senior years, have a GPA of 3.4 or above, and demonstrate leadership potential and a commitment to serving the university and the wider community. Naef scholarships are made possible thanks to an endowment gift from the estate of Sue M. Naef. 

    “The Naef Scholars are among the university’s very finest students,” Sundborg said.

    Naef Scholars are selected after a very extensive selection process and must receive endorsements from faculty and staff before being chosen by the Naef Scholarship Selection Committee.

    The 2011-12 Naef Scholars in the College of Arts and Sciences:

    Sarah Brady: Junior, International Studies

    Megan Dalton: Sophomore, Spanish/International Studies

    Katherine Dineen: Junior, Public Affairs

    Margaret Hazuka: Junior, Political Science

    Elizabeth Higgins: Junior, History

    Amy Kangas: Junior, Psychology

    Mariska Kecsckes: Junior, Political Science

    Christopher Olsen: Junior, Environmental Studies

    Daniel Peters: Sophomore, Social Work

    Mickalya Rogers: Sophomore, Spanish/International Studies

    Andrew Shahamiri: Junior, English/Sociology

    Miranda Triay: Junior, Philosophy/Anthropology

    Amanda Wade: Junior, English-Creative Writing

    Christina Weidner: Junior, History

    College of Arts and Sciences, the largest college in Seattle Universityoffers33 major and 37 minor degree programs for undergraduates and 7 advanced degrees.  


    All comments are moderated for appropriateness and may take a few minutes to appear.

    No one has commented.