Student Clubs
Academic Departmental Honor Societies

Academic Departmental Honor Societies

  • Albers Investment Club (ACTIVE)

    The purpose of this organization is to build the D.A. Davidson sponsored portfolio, engage in financial analysis, as well as discuss and debate current financial and global news.

    Club Contact

    Zach Salisbury
    salisbu4@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    David Carrithers
    Albers School of Business and Economics
    dfcarrit@seattleu.edu
    (206) 296-5919

    Alpha Kappa Psi Professional Business Fraternity (INACTIVE)

    http://www.akpsi-su.com/

    Alpha Kappa Psi is a Professional Business Fraternity. Alpha Kappa Psi is recognized as the premier developer of principled business leaders. Our overall goal is a special one: the preparation of men and women for future success. Colleges and universities teach valuable lessons in the classroom. However, the living laboratory of Alpha Kappa Psi gives our members the practice they need in developing advanced communication skills, a true understanding of the value of teamwork and firsthand experience with the unique challenges of motivating a team through project completion. We have five core values: knowledge, service, unity, integrity, and brotherhood.

    Club Contact

    Cody Smith
    smithc14@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Colette Hoption
    Hoptionc@seattleu.edu

    Alpha Sigma Nu | National Jesuit Honor Society (ACTIVE)

    www.alphasigmanu.org

     Alpha Sigma Nu, the honor society of Jesuit institutions of higher education, recognizes those students who distinguish themselves in scholarship, loyalty and service.  The only honor society permitted to bear the name Jesuit, ΑΣΝ encourages its members to a lifetime pursuit of intellectual development, deepening Ignatian spirituality, service to others, and a commitment to the core principles of Jesuit education.

    The purpose of the Society shall be to honor students of Jesuit institutions of higher education who distinguish themselves in scholarship, loyalty and service; to honor persons who may or may not be Alumni of Jesuit institutions of higher education who have distinguished themselves in scholarship, loyalty and service in their intellectual, civic, religious, professional or commercial pursuits; to band together and to encourage those so honored to understand, to appreciate and to promote the ideals of Jesuit education; to encourage the establishment and proper functioning of Chapters in accredited Jesuit institutions of higher education; and to encourage the establishment and proper functioning of Alumni Clubs.

    Club Contact

    Jenna M. Davison
        davisonj@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Paul Fontana
    College of Science & Engineering
    fontanap@seattleu.edu

    American Marketing Association (ACTIVE)

    The Seattle University American Marketing Association aims to connect students to the greater Seattle business community and take marketing 'beyond the classroom' through an interactive guest speaker series, corporate tours, networking events, workshops, hands-on projects, and case competitions. Learn more at: http://seattleuama.com/  

    Club Contact

    Katie Buttitta buttitta@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Dr. Joseph Barnes
    barnesjw@seattleu.edu

    American Society of Civil Engineers (ACTIVE)

    The American Society of Civil Engineers Seattle University Chapter aims to further the knowledge and advancement of Civil Engineering students within their profession through group activities, and student design competitions.

    Club Contact

    Hillary Tervet
    terveth@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Katherine Kuder
    Civil & Environmental Engineering
    kuderk@seattleu.edu
    (206) 296- 2246

    Anthropology and Sociology Club (ACTIVE)

    To provide a space for students to learn more about anthropology and sociology, careers in those fields, and support classroom learning about the social sciences.

    Club Contact

    Ken Hanson 
    hansonk1@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Jason Miller
    millerja@seattleu.edu

    Beta Alpha Psi: Delta Eta Chapter (INACTIVE)

    Click here for more information www.seattleubap.org

    Club Contact

    Nick Brazell
    brazelln@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Sarah Bee
    Albers School of Business & Economics - Accounting
    bees@seattleu.edu

    Biology Club (ACTIVE)

    The Biology Club aims to bring all students with an interest in biology together to discover the new and appreciate the familiar. Mammals, plants, viruses and bacteria will be covered in variety of ways- guest speakers, documentaries and trips. 

    Club Contact

    Katherine Wood
    woodk@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Heather Brown
    brownh@seattleu.edu

    Biomedical Engineering Club (INACTIVE)

    The Biomedical Engineering club will serve as a resource for students interested in pursuing a career or research in the biomedical engineering field. We hope to have students from all majors, including engineering, computer science, biology, chemistry, and physics, participate in this club. This club will offer members the chance to learn more about opportunities in the bioengineering field, to network with professionals, and participate in conferences and projects on and off campus.

    Club Contact

    Alaina Bever
    bevera1@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Dr. Frank Shih
    fshih@seattleu.edu  

    Chemistry Club (ACTIVE)

    Seattle University Chemistry Club is an organization of students who are interested in sharing their love of chemistry. The purpose of our club is to provide a place for students to discuss all things chemistry related, promote the application of chemistry towards service in the community, creating a sense of professionalism, and having fun with chemistry. 

    Club Contact

    Max Warburg
    warburgm@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Douglas Latch
    latchd@seattleu.edu

    Chi Sigma Iota (ACTIVE)

    Chi Sigma Iota (CSI) is an international honor society for graduate students that values academic and professional excellence in counseling. We promote a strong professional identity through members (professional counselors, counselor educators, and students) who contribute to the realization of a healthy society by fostering wellness and human dignity.

    Club Contact

    Tammy Burgett
    burgettt@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Kristi Lee
    leekrist@seattleu.edu

    Criminal Justice Club (ACTIVE)

    The Criminal Justice Club is for all students who are interested in Criminal Justice.  We organize meetings and programs surrounding the education of the Criminal Justice field.  We work with the Criminal Justice Honors Society and Criminal Justice Department in upholding Seattle U's mission. 

    Club Contact

    Sarah Robinson
    robins36@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    William Parkin
    parkinw@seattleu.edu  

    Global Business Club (INACTIVE)

    The Global Business Club of Seattle University has developed focus of serving as platform to all students to gain an understanding of the global economy, society, and emergence of sustainability. This is a student-led, professional organization promoting a variety of global business aspects.

    Club Contact

    Mohammed Alturki
    alturkim@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Dr. Quan Le
    Albers School of Business & Economics
    lequ@seattleu.edu

    Management Major Advancement Club (MMAC)

    The purpose of this organization shall be to encourage personal and professional development through outreach to the community, networks inside of Seattle University and the resources it offers, the professors and academia geared towards management, and spreading the word about value of the management major and its offerings.

    Club Contact

    Madeline Grubb
    grubbm@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Greg Prussia
    gprussia@seatttleu.edu

    Math Club (INACTIVE)

    The purpose of this club is to have fun and explore the recreational and academic applications of math. Our goals include fostering a healthy appreciation for the subject, and organizing exciting events showcasing the various fields of mathematics.

    Club Contact

    Christopher Cericola
    Cericola@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Dr. Helliwell
    helliwed@seattleu.edu

    Mechanical Engineering (ACTIVE)

    Mechanical Engineering Club, will be working on mechanical engineering focused projects that give students a hands on experience in design and fabrication of select projects to add to their education.

    Club Contact

    Anthony Rock
    rocka@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Dr. Matt Shields
    shieldsm@seattleu.edu  

    Minority Association of Pre-Health Students (ACTIVE)

    MAPS at Seattle University is dedicated to helping underrepresented individuals realize their potential in health care fields. Through our community service and support, we are committed to promoting and enhancing health among minorities, which enables us to educate ourselves so we can better address health concerns.

    Club Contact

    Kenny Wong
    wongk7@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Rebecca Pazdral
    pazdralR@seattleu.edu

    Phi Beta Lambda (ACTIVE)

    Phi Beta Lambda is a professional business club. The purpose of this PBL chapter is to provide additional opportunities for college students to develop leadership and other job related skills to take into a professional business setting. PBL is an integral part of the instructional program and in addition promotes a sense of civic and personal responsibility. Our chapter of PBL also aims to be an Active member of the National FBLA-PBL which we are affiliated with and engage in community service activities.

    Club Contact

    Sergiu Ispas
    ispass@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Jamie Peterson
    petersoj@seattleu.edu

    Philosophy Club (ACTIVE)

    Philosophy club provides a casual setting for students to meet and discuss philosophy, with occasional assigned readings to spur discussion or bring up certain topics. In addition, philosophy club runs the annual club conference, in which students and faculty present papers or lectures, including a guest speaker from outside the university.

    Club Contact

    Angelica Janda
    jandaa@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Wai-Shun Hung
    hungw@seattleu.edu

    Phi Sigma Pi (ACTIVE)

    Phi Sigma Pi is a Co-Ed National Honor Fraternity based on a tripod of ideals: Scholarship, Leadership, and Fellowship. Members of the Zeta Omega chapter pursue a variety of academic interests, without a focus on any one major or career. Zeta Omega received it's charter on June 9th, 2013 as the final chapter of the Zeta chapters. Our chapter is among 133 across the nation and part of an extensive alumni network.

    Club Contact

    Kellen McNamara
    mcnamar5@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Vinod Acharya
    acharyav@seattleu.edu

    Physics Club (INACTIVE)

    We are a group of physics students who aim to create a cohesive SU physics community, foster scientific curiosity outside the classroom setting, and actively engage the campus and local area in exploring physics and the sciences.

    Club Contact

    Greg Netzel
    netzelg@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Woo-Joong Kim
    College of Science and Engineering
    kimw@seattleu.edu

    Political Science Club (INACTIVE)

    This club allows students interested in Political Science to come together to discuss and debate current events, political controversy, and other political issues. Also, we gather and plan events regarding issues related to political science.

    Club Contact

    Alyson Girton
    girtona@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Rose Ernst
    College of Arts & Sciences - Political Science
    ernstr@seattleu.edu

    Pre-Health Club (ACTIVE)

    The Pre-Health Club targets individuals interested in pursing a career in health care. Our main areas of focus are in service and networking. We provide opportunities for our members such as volunteering at the Ronald McDonald House, visiting medical schools, and listening to health care professionals discuss their career and the journey they took to get there. We also network so club members can get involved in programs such as summer research/internships, professional development programs, and study groups focused on preparing for graduate level entrance exams. 

    Club Contact

    Nicholas (Nick) Chock
    chockn@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Rebecca Pazdral
    College of Science and Engineering
    pazdralr@seattleu.edu

    Psi Chi (ACTIVE)

    Psi Chi is the International Honors Society for Psychology. The Seattle University chapter is dedicated to the creation of a focused, psychology-oriented community of students. Psi Chi provides resources like access to grants through the national organization, focused informational events and activities for SU students exclusively, and exposure to developing theory and discussion in the psychology community through events like movie screenings and subsequent discussion.

    Club Contact

    Jessica Gandy
    gandyj@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Alexandra Adame
    adamea@seattleu.edu

    Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) (ACTIVE)

    Seattle University Public Relations Student Society of America provides students with hands-on experience in the fields of PR, Advertising, and Brand Management. We give monthly tours of agencies and corporations known for their PR and Branding, as well as host events on campus with engaging speakers. Joining PRSSA is a great way to network with professionals and form bonds with classmates who share your interests. Today, the Public Relations Student Society of America has more than 10,000 members in 300 chapters across the country. (www.prssa.org) *To get involved, add us on Facebook, sign up to be on our Listserv at any event, or email eisens@seattleu.edu or aquinoa@seattleu.edu.*Any and all are welcome! 

    Club Contact

    Annemarie Ladlad
    ladlada@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Caitlin Ring
    ringc@seattleu.edu  

    Public Health Brigades (ACTIVE)

    Our club works with the non-profit organization Global Brigades Inc. to mobilize university students that ant to participate in volunteer services in Panama, Honduras, and Ghana. PHB at SU aims to provide sustainable solutions in the homes of families in these countries during service learning trips throughout the year. 

    Club Contact

    Pareesa Goshtasebi
    goshtase@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Dr. Cheryl Wotus
    College of Science and Engineering
    wotusc@seattleu.edu

    School Psychers (ACTIVE)

    Our mission is to foster growth and professional development among the students in the School Psychology program at Seattle University. We will strengthen the program's overall mission for training quality school psychologists who will be leaders in their field, with an emphasis placed upon social justice and advocacy.

    Club Contact

    Patrick Reymann
    reymannp@gmail.com

    Advisor

    Sam Song
    College of Education - School Psychology
    songs@seattleu.edu

    Seattle University Chapter of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) (ACTIVE)

    Club provides electrical engineering students with the following IEEE Web account (MyIEEE.com), Access Individual society memberships and subscriptions, IEEE Potentials and IEEE Spectrum magazines, Networking Opportunities, Mentoring Opportunities, Professional Speakers, IEEE Jobs, IEEE email address and profile, Find Upcoming Conferences, Scholarship Programs, Student Competitions, Software, Step Program transition from student branch to section branch, Career Advancement, Cost of membership - $32.00, Resume Building, Mock interviews, Professional Speakers, Specific Company Speakers for Hiring Companies, Company Tours, Networking, Resume Boost for community involvement, Career advancement

    Club Contact

    Erica Flores
    florese@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Dr. Alvin Moser
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    ALMOSER@seattleu.edu

    Seattle University Student Nurses Association (SUSNA) (ACTIVE)

    The purpose of this organization shall be towards the creation of nursing leaders in the community. Our purpose is to not only uphold the nursing values of the National Student Nurses’ Association and the Jesuit teachings of Seattle University, but also, to bridge the gap between the different disciplines and professions in our community. By doing so, we can instill an awareness of the vitality of lateral relationships; thus, leaving behind a legacy for a stronger tomorrow.

    Club Contact

    Elizabeth Jester
    jestere@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Michelle Mattox
    mattoxm@seattleu.edu

    Sigma Iota Rho (INACTIVE)*

    Sigma Iota Rho is an honor society for qualifying International Studies Majors and Minors with a 3.5 GPA or higher. SIR works to gather scholars interested in international issues and events in order to discuss, debate and assess the needs of today and tomorrow. SIR frequently joins the many multi-cultural groups on campus, to put on events for the student body, in order to spread knowledge regarding foreign communities and cultures around the world.

    Club Contact

    Becca Policar
    policarr@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Robert Andolina
    College of Arts & Sciences - International Studies
    andolinr@seattleu.edu

    Society of Women Engineers (SWE) (ACTIVE)

    The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) is a not-for-profit educational and service organization that empowers women to succeed and advance in the field of engineering, and to be recognized for their life-changing contributions as engineers and leaders. Founded in 1950, SWE is the driving force that establishes engineering as a highly desirable career for women through an exciting array of training and development programs, networking opportunities, scholarships, outreach and advocacy activities, and much more.

    Club Contact

    Bianca Casem
    casemb1@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Agnieszka Miguel
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    amiguel@seattleu.edu

    SUCON Transfer Cohort (ACTIVE)

    A social club to unite the transfer cohorts of Seattle University's College of Nursing.

    Club Contact

    Libby Witter
    wittere@seattleu.edu  

    Advisor

    Lory Cray
    crayl@seattleu.edu  

    Tau Beta Pi (INACTIVE)

    This is Seattle University's chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the engineering honor society. This club's purpose is to recognize high performing engineers and engineering students with good character. This club participates in volunteer activities and Tau Beta Pi activities in the area.

    Club Contact

    Caleb Bowman
    bowmanc1@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Frank Shih
    fshih@seattleu.edu

    Tau Sigma Gamma Mu (ACTIVE)

    This club is a national honor society dedicated specifically to transfer students at Seattle University. 

    Club Contact

    Jessica Gandy
    gandyj@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Angel Asuncion-Reed
    asuncioa@seattleu.edu

    The Catalyst (ACTIVE)

    The Catalyst is a bi-quarterly publication dedicated to social justice issues.  The intent of this publication is to focus on those issues pertinent to the Seattle University campus and community, providing students and faculty with condensed and organized information.  Each newsletter will summarize a specific topic, highlight the achievement of fellow students, and encourage readers to become active members of their community. 

    Club Contact

    Logan McDonald
    mcdona11@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Tiffany Gray
    grayt@seattleu.edu