Academic Affairs
Standing Committees

Honorary Degree Committee

  • Membership

    Isiaah Crawford (Chair)

    *Committee not convening in 2011-2012


    Invites nominations for honorary degrees each fall for upcoming commencement year. Recommends two to four individuals of prominence and achievement to Board of Trustees for final approval.


    Recommendatory to the President.


    Typically three or four meetings are held beginning in October and concluding in January, with a recommendation to the trustees at the February board meeting.


    Chaired by Executive Assistant to the President. Membership includes a member of Public Relations, one academic dean, one Jesuit, and one appointee each from the Academic Assembly, SUSA, and ASSU. Terms are for one year and are renewable.

    Reports to


    Minutes Distribution

    Committee members and Cabinet

    Chair or Contact Person/Telephone Number

    Isiaah Crawford/2595
    Kathy Ybarra/2810


    Seattle University awarded its first honorary degree at the 1948 commencement ceremonies.